Community

CVA Families

Thank you for choosing Carrabassett Valley Academy and being part of our incredible community. This webpage is your first stop for the most current information to help you navigate the academic year with ease.

School Calendar

2024/25 School Calendar 

Key dates:
Fall Registration Day: Sunday, September 1
Winter Registration Day: Sunday, November 3
Thanksgiving Break: November 23 – December 1
December Break: December 21 – January 1
Presidents Day Long Weekend: February 15 –18
Last day of the Winter Term: Friday, April 4
April Break: April 12- 27
Last day of school: June 6
Graduation: June 7
Optional on-campus Summer School: June 9 - 13

Fall Registration Day

Fall Registration Day is fast approaching and we are looking forward to seeing our Big Dog families! Please see the Fall Registration Day Schedule for arrival times, school registration, moving information, and more.

All students, families, and employees are invited to the Fall Registration Day Welcome Luncheon on Sunday, September 1 at 12pm. Please RSVP here by August 12, 2024.

Contact Lydia Barbie with any questions.

Tuition Payments

Here is a summarized guide to tuition payment plans with payment deadlines. Tuition payment plans were selected with the enrollment contract signature. Tuition payments can be made by check, eCheck, or credit card. Please note that there is a 3% credit card processing fee and a $50 charge for returned ACH payments or wires.
 
Tuition Payment Plans:
  1. Plan A: 100% of Tuition
    • Deadline: Pay the full amount of the tuition, less the enrollment deposit, by July 19.
  2. Plan B: 50% of Tuition Deposit
    • Deadline: Pay 50% of the tuition, less the enrollment deposit, by July 19.
    • Remaining Balance: Due by December 1, along with accrued monthly interest.
    • There is no penalty for pre-payment.
  3. Plan C: 25% of Tuition Deposit
    • Deadline: Pay 25% of the tuition, less enrollment deposit, by July 19.
    • Remaining Balance: Due in monthly payments starting September 1, along with accrued interest.
    • There is no penalty for pre-payment.
Ensuring timely payment according to your selected plan is crucial. If you need further assistance or have specific inquiries, please contact Steve Abeles, Director of Finance at sabeles@gocva.com or 207-237-4460.
 
If you are unsure about your payment plan or need to view your signed contract, click here to learn how to access your enrollment contract.

Employee Directory

Do you have questions? The following people are available to help you:

Residential Life - Dave Koenig dkoenig@gocva.com
Academic - Karen Lanoue-Egan klanoue-egan@gocva.com
Financial - Steve Abeles sabeles@gocva.com
Snowboard - Freddy McCarthy fmccarthy@gocva.com
Ski Cross - Mike Phelan mphelan@gocva.com
Freestyle Moguls - Nate McKenzie nmckenzie@gocva.com
Freestyle Freeski - Mark Spinney mspinney@gocva.com
Alpine - Kirk Dwyer kdwyer@gocva.com
Backcountry - Garrett Morrow gmorrow@gocva.com
Medical - Amy Martin amartin@gocva.com
Sports Medicine - Tristy Wolfe twolfe@gocva.com
Registration Days - Lydia Barbie lbarbie@gocva.com

STUDENT HEALTH INSURANCE

Carrabassett Valley Academy is proud to partner with SHIP Student Health Insurance Protection to offer domestic and international insurance for our students. For more information, please visit Carrabassett Valley Academy's SHIP Student Health Insurance webpage.

MAGNUS HEALTH

Magnus Health is the online platform used to manage our students' health records. This is where we collect your students' health and medical information.
  • Returning families will receive an email regarding action items on July 1.
  • New families will receive a welcome email when they are added to the system.
  • All Magnus Health Requirements are due before Registration Day.
Magnus Customer Support can be contacted at 1-877-461-6831 or service@magnushealth.com

Medical paperwork is handled by CVA School Nurse, Amy Martin and CVA Athletic Trainer, Tristy Wolfe.

SUGARLOAF SKI CLUB

One of CVA's most important partners is the Sugarloaf Ski Club. We encourage all CVA families to become members of the Ski Club. The Club offers multiple scholarship opportunities to CVA Students.

Click here to learn more.

SafeSport

CVA, as a member club of US Ski and Snowboard and under the umbrella of the USOC, recognizes the importance of the SafeSport initiative. As it states: We all have a role to play in creating a healthy setting for sport. SafeSport helps raise awareness about misconduct in sport, promotes open dialogue, and provides training and resources. When we work as a team, we can build a game plan to make sport safe―for everyone.  CVA is committed to the health, safety, and well-being of each of our athletes.

Updated training is available through the SafeSport website. Courses range from 15 - 30 minutes. We encourage all families to utilize the free educational training.

CVA COMMUNITY DRIVERS NEEDED

We currently have a need for a couple of folks who would be willing to drive boarding students to and from appointments in Kingfield or Farmington. If you are local, have some free time, and are looking for ways to connect with some wonderful Big Dogs, please contact Tristy at twolfe@gocva.com. Thank you!

SKI & SNOWBOARD PATHWAYS AFTER HIGH SCHOOL

Click here for Ski & Snowboard Pathways after High School webinar presentation slides.
         
Below are YouTube links for the recorded presentation and breakout sessions sent to us by Jay Moyer at USCSA. Feel free to reach out to jmoyer@uscsa.org with any follow-up questions.
     
Main Session Recording

Nordic Session Recording

Alpine Ski Session Recording
                     
Snowboard & Freeski Breakout Room - USASA had technical issues and did not record the session.
Inquire
Visit
Apply
Carrabassett Valley Academy prohibits discrimination against or harassment of any member or group based upon age, gender, race, color, religion, disability,  categories sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, national origin, genetic predisposition, ancestry or other categories protected by Maine or federal law. CVA does not discriminate on these bases in the administration of its admission process, scholarship and aid programs, educational policies, athletics, or other school-administered programs.
©2024 Carrabassett Valley Academy